# - Limerick Choral Festival 2012 -

#### **Awards**

### **Church Choir of the Year Competition:**

1st. Choir of St. Mary's Cathedral, Killarney Conductor: Mr. Declan Walsh

2<sup>nd</sup>. Our Lady & St. Brendan's Parish Choir, Tralee Conductor: Ms. Martina Ryan-Egan

### **Sacred Music Competition:**

1<sup>st</sup>. Opus '96 Chamber Choir, Tralee *Conductor*: Ms. Martina Ryan-Egan

**2<sup>nd</sup>.** Limerick Choral Union *Conductor*: Mr. Malcolm Green

#### **Plainchant Competition:**

1st. Glenstal Abbey School Senior Choir, Co. Limerick *Conductor:* Fr. Columba McCann O.S.B.

**2<sup>nd</sup>.** NUIG Choral Society, Galway *Conductor*: Ms. Lily McGarry

#### **Early Music Competition:**

1st. NUIG Choral Society, Galway *Conductor:* Ms. Lily McGarry

Joint 2<sup>nd</sup>. Cantabile Vocal Ensemble, Cork
 Conductor: Mary O'Brien
Tullamore Academy Chamber Choir
 Conductor: Ciarán Brady

#### **Primary School Choirs' Competition:**

1st. Kildimo National School Choir, Co. Limerick *Conductor:* Ms. Aoife Foley

**2<sup>nd</sup>.** St. Nessan's National School Choir, Limerick *Conductor*: Ms. Valerie Marron

### **Post-Primary School Choirs' Competition (Equal Voice):**

1st. De La Salle Senior Choir, Waterford Conductor: Br. Ben Hanlon

**2<sup>nd</sup>.** Colaiste Iosaef Chamber Choir, Kilmallock *Conductor*: Elaine Davern

## **Post-Primary School Choirs' Competition (Mixed Voice):**

1st. St. Paul's High School, Bessbrook, Co. Armagh *Conductor:* Mr. Colm Murphy

**2<sup>nd</sup>.** Mercy Mounthawk Secondary School, Tralee *Conductor*: Martina Ryan-Egan

## **Youth Choirs' Competition:**

**Awarded to:** Moate Youth Choir, Co. Offaly *Conductor:* Mr. Ciarán Brady

## Dr. Patrick McCormack Perpetual Cup for a cappella Performance:

**Awarded to:** NUIG Choral Society, Galway *Conductor:* Ms. Lily McGarry

### **Best Limerick Choir:**

**Awarded to:** Kildimo National School Choir, Co. Limerick *Conductor:* Ms. Aoife Foley



## Category

National Church Choir of the Year Competition:

Sacred Music Competition: Plainchant Competition: Early Music Competition: Conductor: Mr. Declan Walsh nd 2. Our Lady & St. Brendan's Parish Choir, Tralee Conductor: Ms. Martina Ryan-Egan st 1. Opus '96 Chamber Choir, Tralee Conductor: Ms. Martina Ryan-Egan nd 2 . Limerick Choral Union Conductor: Mr. Malcolm Green st 1. Glenstal Abbey School Senior Choir, Co. Limerick Conductor: Fr. Columba McCann O.S.B. nd 2 . NUIG Choral Society, Galway Conductor: Ms. Lily McGarry st 1. NUIG Choral Society, Galway Conductor: Ms. Lily McGarry nd Joint 2. Cantabile Vocal Ensemble, Cork Conductor: Mary O'Brien & Tullamore Academy Chamber Choir Conductor: Ciarán Brady Primary Schools' Competition: Equal Voice Post-Primary: Mixed Voice Post-Primary: Youth Choirs' Competition: 1. Kildimo National School Choir, Co. Limerick

Conductor: Ms. Aoife Foley

nd

Dr. Patrick McCormack Perpetual Cup for a cappella performance:

Best Limerick Choir:

Conductor: Martina Ryan-Egan Moate Youth Choir, Co. Offaly

Conductor: Mr. Ciarán Brady

**NUIG Choral Society, Galway** 

Conductor: Ms. Lily McGarry

Kildimo National School Choir, Co. Limerick

Conductor: Ms. Aoife Foley

2

. St. Nessan's National School Choir, Limerick

